Explore. Dream. Discover.

Tomorrow I am meeting with my cousin who will be embarking soon on her first solo trip to Europe. Having been there several times on my own, she asked if we could sit down for coffee to chat about … well, everything. Excitedly, I agreed. In the meantime, I gave her all my travel guides to help plan her 70 day trip.

On my trip to Berlin last month, I managed to find a Moleskin City Notebook on Amsterdam (her first stop on the trip) for about 4 Euros. These notebooks normally sell for about 16 Euros, so…BONUS! I also stocked up for myself. If you’re not familiar with the Moleskin City Notebook, they’re great. They’re very small black moleskin books with city maps, metro maps, blank pages, contacts, an organization system for jotting down your favourite places, restaurants, shopping, sightseeing, etc. Basically, it’s a travel guide that YOU write.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I hate pulling out my Lonely Planet guide in the middle (Note** I LOVE Lonely Planet Guides) of the street for all to see. It makes me feel a little bit vulnerable and travelling on your own is enough vulnerability! Seriously, if you pulled this little black book out of your purse/bag, no one would be the wiser. It’s genius.

My cousin is a special young woman. Without going into any details, I will say that she deserves to have this great adventure– to be young, have fun and feel free.

So, to make the book a little extra special, I decided to get creative and inscribe the inside with a quote from Mark Twain to celebrate this great adventure.

How it turned out:

I feel really good about how it turned out. It’s a very simple inscription, but the quote speaks volumes.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. (Mark Twain)

Leave a Reply

