Ova

I worked on some drawings last night. I don’t know. These just came to me..

I like the idea of the egg as a symbol for transformation, beginnings, ideas and new knowledge. I guess I don’t think of it in the traditional sense of life and fertility. Though, I suppose it could represent fertile ideas. The egg is definitely a powerful image whatever the meaning intended.

Keith Haring said something about meaning and art in his journals. He said that it wasn’t up to an artist to have the final say on the meaning of his art. The meaning came from the viewer.  What does this mean to you?

 

7 thoughts on “Ova

  1. aponr says:

    Your thoughts on the egg symbolizing transformation sort of reminds me of that drawing from W. Blake, with the Angel breaking free from the inside of an egg (and his legend: “At length for hatching ripe he breaks the shell”). Blake also plays with the idea of the egg as something that has to be broken to follow transformation in the lines “The mundane shell is a vast Concave Earth, an immense Harden’d Shadow of all things upon our Vegetated Earth,”
    The egg is indeed a powerful image, and if I remember correctly some of the 16th to 17th century alchemists loved its symbolic power.

    I agree that the meaning of art comes from the viewer. Well, it depends on what artist we are talking about, but a part of me agrees. Another part believes that sometimes the intentions of the artist are rather well defined, and that we may misread its purpose or meaning. Still I would venture to say that most of great art can have multiple interpretations, and it is thus able to move different people for reasons that are unique to each individual.
    Cool drawings by the way! Love the one with what I interpret as an egg above a nest

      • aponr says:

        Funny that you mentioned Tennyson, I have been wanting to write a post on a painting that is based on one of his poems. I have not done it since I do not like the photographs I took of that painting (and what I found online looks even worse). I must confess that I have not read him much though, so I had not heard that phrase before. It is a nice phrase

  2. aponr says:

    The painting is “The Lady of Shalott” by John Atkinson Grimshaw, and it is based on the story narrated by the homonymous poem by Tennyson. There are many paintings done after this poem by the Pre-Raphaelites, the Grimshaw version being one of them. That was the painting I was referring to, it is at an art gallery close to my house, but the problem is that it is sort of glossy and near a window, so the photographs I took of it have a strong reflection and you cannot see the details (which is a pity, since the painting is super nice). The poem is about this woman that lives in a tower, under some strange curse. She has never left that place, until one day she sees Lancelot from her window, falls in love and decides to venture into the “real” world. She takes a boat and dies in the journey. One interpretation (there are many possible ones of course) is that the poem is referring to how lonely and detached from the real world an artist can get.
    I think I wrote most of the post I intend to write on my blog on your comment section… sorry about that!

    • travellingartista says:

      It’s too bad about your photo. I think this would make a nice blog post.

      I guess the question is does an artist have to isolate his or herself from the world in order to be a good artist?

      I think short periods of isolation are ok and necessary. Like incubation.

      I think it’s virtually impossible to totally isolate one’s self. Most of us have the internet. Even The Lady had her mirror. To make art, though, I think you need the ‘real world.’ Most art will show (some more obvious than others) that the artist is aware of the world around him/her. Even if one is looking at the ‘real world’ slightly askew. Art bears witness to the world. Even the most surreal, dream-like images (seeming detached from reality) are a mirror to the ‘real world.’

      But in the poem, reality leads to the Lady’s death. So maybe for Tennyson, reality/ outside influence kills creativity.

      I like your blog. 🙂

      • aponr says:

        I agree with everything you said, and funny enough I intended to write something about how reality itself could be the curse for Tennyson (since, as you pointed out, reality leads to her death).
        It is awesome that you like my blog, I like yours too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

