Garden Melancholia, in Context.

 

 

 

GM1/2

Garden Melancholia No. 1 & 2 

11″X14″

Ink, Collage

2012

These pieces are slightly too large to scan. However, I thought I would share how they fit together. I put them up close to where I work so I can see them and get used them together. Perhaps this will help me with the pieces that follow.

I don’t feel as bad anymore when I see that my style and technique bounce around from piece to piece. I used to. You know– how some artists have a signature style? Sometimes it’s called “branding.” As far as I’m concerned, I feel different everyday. Inevitably it will show up in the work. BUT, having said that, I do enjoy seeing work  that so clearly fits together like this. It makes me want to create more. It doesn’t mean the very next piece will be created in the same vain. I have to go with how I feel.

In other news, I upgrade my Cargo Collective website. I finally took the plunge and bought more space and possibility. I’ll probably work on that in the next few days while I’m away at work.

I finally finished a roll of film. It only took a year! I don’t even remember what is on it. I re-loaded my camera with Ilford Delta black and white film. Yes, obviously inspired (obsessed?!) by Mark Borchardt.

The second annual Secret 7″ Competition will begin soon. They should be announcing the 7 new hosts (bands) who we can create album art for shortly…. I’m definitely IN to that. If I can manage, I want to submit for all 7.  So I imagine most of my December/February will involve this project.

Oh, also I’m going to Japan in January.

X

2 thoughts on “Garden Melancholia, in Context.

    • travellingartista says:

      No, most photos are digital. I have a camera with film, but I dont use it that often. That’s why it took a year to finish the roll. But I am excited to use this next roll of b&w.

      Each band offers a song to create 7″ album artwork for… /i’ve only ever created for The Cure so I don’t know how or if my style will vary according to band.

Leave a Reply

